June 7, 2023dotNiels Kramer

Carl Jung’s 12 Archetypes for a strong Brand Identity

In the world of marketing and branding, creating a strong brand identity is crucial for standing out in a crowded marketplace. One powerful framework that can help businesses shape their brand personality is Carl Jung’s theory of archetypes. Carl Jung was a Swiss psychiatrist and psychoanalyst. He was initially a student of Sigmund Freud and was heavily influenced by him. However, their relationship eventually soured, leading to a significant rift between them. Jung believed that archetypes are universal patterns or images that reside in the collective unconscious of humanity. He created a framework for understanding and interpreting human psychology and culture and divided it into 4 types of humans, and these were subdivided into 3 giving us 12 archetypes. If your psychologist is working with this theory, I would worry, but for branding, this is a great tool to create compelling and impactful branding identities and strategies.

It’s hard to choose 1 specific archetype for your brand. Just like people, brands are far more complex than Carl thought at the time, but it gives us direction in building a clear and powerful brand identity. Connect this to a brand purpose and a great story, and you’ll be unstoppable!

The Innocent:
The Innocent archetype represents purity, simplicity, and optimism. Brands embodying this archetype often focus on safety, nostalgia, and genuine experiences. To use this archetype in branding, emphasize honesty, transparency, and create a sense of security for your customers.

The Everyman:
The Everyman archetype is relatable, down-to-earth, and focuses on belonging. Brands that embody this archetype aim to make customers feel comfortable, understood, and part of a community. Showcase the ordinary and emphasize inclusivity to appeal to a wide audience.

The Hero:
The Hero archetype represents strength, courage, and the desire to overcome obstacles. Brands embodying this archetype often motivate customers to become the best version of themselves. Highlight challenges your customers face and demonstrate how your brand can empower them to overcome those challenges.

The Caregiver:
The Caregiver archetype is nurturing, compassionate, and selfless. Brands embodying this archetype often focus on customer support, trust, and making a positive impact. Show empathy, demonstrate social responsibility, and provide exceptional customer service to align with this archetype.

The Explorer:
The Explorer archetype embodies freedom, adventure, and a thirst for new experiences. Brands embodying this archetype inspire customers to step out of their comfort zone and explore the unknown. Use imagery and messaging that evoke curiosity, discovery, and a sense of wanderlust.

The Rebel:
The Rebel archetype represents nonconformity, revolution, and challenging the status quo. Brands embodying this archetype aim to disrupt industries, challenge norms, and offer unconventional solutions. Embrace edgy and bold visuals, and create a sense of rebellion against established norms.

The Lover:
The Lover archetype represents passion, sensuality, and emotional connections. Brands embodying this archetype focus on creating intimate relationships with their customers. Use visuals and language that evoke emotions, promote intimacy, and emphasize the sensory aspects of your products or services.

The Creator:
The Creator archetype represents imagination, innovation, and self-expression. Brands embodying this archetype often strive for originality, creativity, and pushing boundaries. Showcase your unique approach, highlight your creative process, and emphasize how your brand brings ideas to life.

The Jester:
The Jester archetype is playful, humorous, and lighthearted. Brands embodying this archetype aim to entertain, bring joy, and create memorable experiences. Use humor, clever wordplay, and vibrant visuals to engage with your audience and leave a lasting impression.

The Sage:
The Sage archetype embodies wisdom, knowledge, and intellectual pursuits. Brands embodying this archetype aim to educate, inform, and provide expert advice. Showcase your expertise, share valuable insights, and position your brand as a trusted source of information.

The Magician:
The Magician archetype represents transformation, spirituality, and mystique. Brands embodying this archetype offer transformative experiences, promising customers a change in their lives. Use storytelling, symbolism, and mysticism to create an aura of enchantment and intrigue.

The Ruler:
The Ruler archetype represents leadership, authority, and control. Brands embodying this archetype aim to provide structure, guidance, and establish a sense of order. Demonstrate reliability, showcase success.


Like I said… It’s hard to choose 1 specific archetype. You can choose a primary and secondary archetype if that gives you more space to express your brand.

Human helps companies who struggle to set themselves apart and create healthy growth by providing purpose-driven marketing solutions so that they re-discover their passion and become the brand their customers love.

Talk to us if you’re getting excited 😊